Young woman climbing up a rock wall.
Woman climbing up a grassy wall. Mountains in the background.
Two climbers are crossing a steel rope bridge. A rock face can be seen in the background.
Climber climbing wall. Focus is in the sky, another mountain can be seen in the background.
Climber on wire rope
Woman in via ferrata

Vie ferrate

Vie ferrate close to the valley have turned into an absolute recreational hit in the last few years because they make it possible to enjoy breathtaking views without having to trek endlessly uphill covered in sweat. The combination of enjoying nature and caring for the environment, as well as avoiding conflict and meeting safety requirements is also supported by the funding of vie ferrate.

What does it offer?


As with the climbing gardens, the use of a funded via ferrata comes with lots of advantages. Due consideration is paid both to environmental issues and the wishes of mountain sport fans.

The following criteria apply to a funded via ferrata:

  • High safety requirements on the basis of the guidelines of the Austrian Board for Alpine Safety have to be met (Via Ferrata Handbook)
  • Optimal quality in the sense of modern via ferrata technology
  • Negative effects on nature and landscape are avoided in construction 
  • Signposting based on the Tyrolean Mountain Trail Plan
  • Contractual usage agreements with all landowners

Personal safety equipment

  • tested via ferrata set
  • helmet
  • gloves
  • sturdy boots with profile sole
  • first aid kit
  • mobile phone

in addition, depending on length and grade of difficulty of the via ferrata

  • drinking water, snack
  • weatherproofs

Funded vie ferrate - where are they?

In Tyrol there are all together 43 funded vie ferrate spread over all nine districts.

Imst District


  • Hanauer Klettersteig (Hanauer Hütte)
  • Jubiläums-Klettersteig (Lehner Wasserfall)
  • Imster Klettersteig
  • Obergurgler Klettersteig (Zirbenwald)
  • Auer Klamm Klettersteige
  • Klettersteig Stuibenfall
  • Reinhard Schiestl Klettersteig (Burgsteinwand)
  • Leite Klettersteig (Tieftal)
  • Klettersteige Kletterpark Pitztal
  • Geierwand Klettersteig
  • Steinwand Klettersteig (Burgstall)
  • Insured Climb Vordere Platteinspitze

Schwaz District

  • Achenseer 5 Gipfel Klettersteig
  • Kinderklettersteig Zimmereben
  • Huterlaner Klettersteig
  • Zimmereben Klettersteig
  • Klettersteig Pfeilspitzwand
  • Astegg Klettersteig
  • Nasenwand Klettersteig

East Tyrol District


  • Galitzenklamm Klettersteig
  • Dopamin Klettersteig
  • Family Via Ferrata Glitzenklamm
  • Endorphin Klettersteig
  • Großer Kinigat Klettersteig
  • Verborgene Welt Klettersteig

Innsbruck District/Innsbruck-Land


  • Absamer Klettersteig (Bettelwurfhütte)
  • Kaiser Max Klettersteig (Martinswand)
  • Schlicker Klettersteig (Ochsenwand)
  • Peter Kofler Klettersteig (Stafflacher Wand)
  • St. Magdalena Klettersteig

Kufstein District


  • Klamml Klettersteig
  • Klettersteigpark Ottenalm Kaiserwinkel
  • Kufsteiner Klettersteig
  • Reintalersee Klettersteig
  • Eggersteig (Steinerne Rinne)

Reutte District


  • Klettersteig Lachenspitze Nordwand
  • Köllenspitze Klettersteig
  • Klettersteig Holzgau Simmswasserfall

Kitzbühel District


  • Klettersteig Kitzbüheler Horn
  • Marokka Klettersteig
  • Inscured Path Lärchegg

Landeck District


  • Klettersteig Galugg
  • Anton Renk Klettersteig


No news available.


Klaus Pietersteiner

Province of Tyrol - Department for Forestry Conservation

Bürgerstr. 36, 6020 Innsbruck

Tel.: +43 512 508 4605

Contact Department for Sport:


Mag. Dr. Christoph Höbenreich

Province of Tyrol - Department for Sport

Eduard-Wallnöfer-Platz 3, 6020 Innsbruck

Tel.: +43 512 508 3191