© Tyrolean regional Government
Black Grouse - Wood Grouse
© Tyrolean regional Government
Black Grouse - Wood Grouse

“Do not disturb – I need my peace and quiet”

Black and wood grouse try to survive the winter in energy-saving mode and avoid all unnecessary movement. The black grouse often lets itself get snowed in to gain protection from cold and storms. Just imagine, it also has to flee several times a day from tourers and then, with great effort, trudge back up the mountain ....

© Tyrolean regional Government
grau weiße Schräge zur optischen Gestaltung.

Specific characteristic - flight behaviour

When disturbed by ski tourers, grouse flee and fly up to 400 m away, causing them to waste a great deal of energy. When grouse flee, they usually fly downhill or downwards parallel to the slope.

Grouse are birds that live on the ground and thus have muscles that are far better developed for running  than for flying. This means that, in most cases, after they have fled, the grouse reach their established habitat on foot. Being weakened by repeated flight can lead to the birds’ death or weakened females do not lay eggs with a thick shell and do not produce strong chicks.

© Tyrolean regional Government
Flying Black Grouse
© Tyrolean regional Government
Skier in a young forest.

Effect of being disturbed

The critical effects on grouse of being disturbed depend on the time of day and their location: when they are eating, just 1 or 2 flights of escape can be enough to have dramatic consequences for the birds’ condition; in other instances, being disturbed 3 to  5 times in quick succession leaves the birds seriously weakened.

A group of skiers passing by just once is less significant than being startled by individual skiers several times in the course of the day, especially when foraging.

The way the impact of tourists is spread over time is of great significance: investigations have shown that skiers skiing during the day over the wide open area where the birds meet to breed  is irrelevant, but what has a serious impact is doing this early in the morning.

Endangered status

Black and wood grouse are considered “endangered” in Austria, all the more so as their habitat in central Europe has been contracting for decades.

In addition their winter habitat, especially the black grouse’s, overlaps with the ski tour areas.

© Tyrolean regional Government
Black Grouse during dawn

Code of Conduct:

Animal species Peculiarities To be observed:
Wood grouse mainly to be found in light forests; abandons its habitat if frequently disturbed. Have regard to designated retreats. Relocate ski tours away from sensitive habitats.
Black grouse Preferred habitat are small grassy ridges with mountain pines and green alder poking through the snow cover and adjacent powder snow The effects of being disturbed can be serious, especially in the early morning and evening. Especially in thick snow, avoid areas with mountain pines and green alder with adjacent powder snow. Have regard to designated retreats. No off-ski slope ski tours at night and keep as far away as possible from the edge of the forest.
Snow grouse Looks for food on wind-blown ridges and arêtes Shows moderate flight behaviour, escaping to the nearest areas of rock, and is a relatively good flier. In case of contact give as wide a berth as possible and leave the bare ridge to the birds.
All types of game Active at dusk If possible never tour at dusk and in all cases keep to forest roads and ski slopes. Observe local ski slopes rules!
© Tyrolean regional Government
Verschneiter Hochgebirgswald. Im Hintergrund mit Wolken bedecktes Tal.

Tyrolean Ski and Snowboard Tour Plan

We have worked intensively with environmentalists, hunters and conservation experts to draw up the Tyrolean Ski and Snowboard Tour Plan to investigate the impact of ski and snowboard tours on flora and fauna in the mountains.

If you need any further information about the protected sites and species and want to know how we came to choose them, you'll find all the basics in the Tyrolean Ski and Snowboard Tour Plan below, which is available for downloading.

 

Contact:

 

Anna Koch

Province of Tyrol - Department for Forestry Conservation

Bürgerstr. 36, 6020 Innsbruck

info@bergwelt-miteinander.at

Tel.: +43 512 508 4609

Top

© Land Tirol
Birkhuhn - Auerhuhn
© Land Tirol
Birkhuhn - Auerhuhn

„Scheich‘ mi nit auf – i brauch‘ mei Ruah“

Birk- und Auerhühner versuchen den Winter im Energiesparmodus zu überstehen und vermeiden jede unnötige Bewegung. Das Birkhuhn läßt sich oft einschneien, um vor Sturm und Kälte geschützt zu sein. Stell dir vor, es muß dann auch noch mehrmals am Tag vor einem Tourengeher flüchten und mühsam den Berg wieder nach oben stapfen....

© Land Tirol
grau weiße Schräge zur optischen Gestaltung.

Spezifische Charakteristik - Fluchtverhalten

Bei Störungen durch Skitourengeher flüchten und fliegen Birkhühner bis zu 400 m weit davon, dadurch haben sie einen sehr hohen Energieverlust. Wenn Birkhühner flüchten, fliegen sie meist hangabwärts oder hangparallel nach unten.

Als bodenbewohnende Hühnerart haben Birkhühner eine gute Laufmuskulatur, die besser entwickelt ist, als die  Flugmuskulatur. Das heißt, nach der Flucht erreichen Birkhühner in den meisten Fällen zu Fuß ihren angestammten Lebensraum. Diese Schwächung durch wiederholte Fluchten kann zum Tod der Tiere führen, bzw. legen geschwächte Hennen keine dickschaligen Eier mit starken Küken.

© Land Tirol
Birkhahn fliegt los.
© Land Tirol
Freerider befährt einen schneebedeckten Hang mit vereinzelten Bäumen.

Auswirkung von Störungen

Kritisch wirken sich Störungen der Hühnervögel je nach Tageszeit und Aufenthaltsort aus:Beim Fressen genügen 1 bis 2 Fluchtflüge, dass dramatische Folgen für die Kondition der Vögel eintreten, ansonsten wird ab 3 bis  5 aufeinander folgenden Störungen der Vogel folgenschwer geschwächt.

Das einmalige Vorbeifahren von mehreren Skifahrern ist weniger relevant, als das Aufschrecken durch einzelne Skifahrer über den Tag verteilt, insbesondere bei der Nahrungsaufnahme.

Die zeitliche Verteilung der touristischen Nutzung ist sehr wesentlich: Skifahrer, die am Tag über den weiten offenen Balzplatz fahren, haben sich bei Untersuchungen als  irrelevant erwiesen, gravierend ist dies jedoch in den frühen Morgenstunden.

Gefährdungsstatus

Birk- und Auerhuhn gelten in Österreich als „gefährdet“, zudem schrumpft das Areal in Mitteleuropa seit Jahrzehnten.

Außerdem überlagert sich der winterliche Lebensraum, vor allem beim Birkwild, mit dem Skitourengelände.

© Land Tirol
Ein Birkhuhn in der Dämmerung.

Verhaltensregeln:

Tierart Eigenheit Zu beachten:
Auerhuhn Kommt hauptsächlich in lichten Wäldern vor; verlässt bei häufiger Störung Habitat. Rücksichtnahme auf ausgewiesene Ruhezonen. Verlegen von Skitouren bei sensiblen Habitaten.
Birkhuhn Bevorzugter Lebensraum sind kleine Geländerücken mit Latschen und Grünerlen die aus der Schneedecke schauen und daran angrenzender Pulverschnee Besonders in den frühen Morgenstunden und am Abend wirken sich Störungen gravierend aus. Besonders bei hoher Schneedecke, Bereiche mit Latschen und Grünerlen und daran angrenzenden Pulverschnee meiden. Rücksichtnahme auf ausgewiesene Ruhezonen. Keine Nachtschitouren abseits von Pisten und möglichst weit weg vom Waldrand.
Schneehuhn Sucht Nahrung auf abgewehten Rücken und Graten Zeigt ein moderates Fluchtverhalten in das nächste Felsgebiet und ist ein relativ guter Flieger. Bei Kontakt möglichst ausweichen und dem Vögel die abgeblasenen Rücken überlassen.
Alle Wildarten Aktivität in der Dämmerung Möglichst keine Touren in der Dämmerung und ansonsten auf Forststraßen und Skipisten bleiben. Lokale Skipistenregelungen beachten!
© Land Tirol
Verschneiter Hochgebirgswald. Im Hintergrund mit Wolken bedecktes Tal.

Tiroler Ski- und Snowboardtourenkonzept

Bei der Erstellung des Tiroler Ski- und Snowboardtourenkonzeptes haben wir uns gemeinsam mit Wildökologen, Jägern und Naturschutzxperten intensiv mit den Auswirkungen von Ski- und Snowboardtouren auf Flora und Fauna im Gebirge auseinandergesetzt.

Wenn du weitere Informationen zu den Schutzgütern benötigst und wissen willst, wie wir zur Auswahl unserer Schutzgüter gekommen sind, findest du alle Grundlagen im unten zum Download bereitgestellten Tiroler Ski- und Snowboardtourenkonzept.

 

 

Kontakt:

Anna Koch

Land Tirol - Abteilung Waldschutz

Bürgerstr. 36, 6020 Innsbruck

info@bergwelt-miteinander.at

Tel.: +43 512 508 4609

Nach oben